2019 EPS Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize Winners

May 22, 2019

Congratulations are in order to four EPS concentrators who have been awarded the 2019 Hoopes Prize for their senior theses:

Maya Chung for her submission entitled “Quantifying Isopycnal Heave Using Dynamic Depth Warping”

Rebecca Cleveland-Stout for her submission entitled “Leveraging preservation bias in Last Interglacial coral sea-level records to refine global ice volumes over the ice age”

Thomas Andrew Lee for his submission entitled “Detection of a ‘Silent’ Magma Intrusion Using Ambient Seismic Noise Autocorrelation Functions from the 2018 Kīlauea, Hawai‘i, Eruption”

Margaret Powell for her submission entitled “Four Years of Alaskan Methane Emissions from the Carbon in Arctic Reservoirs Vulnerability Experiment (CARVE) Aircraft Campaign”


The Hoopes Prize is awarded annually to “undergraduates on the basis of outstanding scholarly work or research.” https://prizes.fas.harvard.edu/hoopes-prize

Maya, Becca, Thomas and Maggie: We are very proud of your hard-earned achievement!



See also: Student Award