Graduate Student News

Congratulations to student fellowship winners

June 12, 2017

We are delighted to share the news that graduate students Tia Scarpelli and Jonathan Moch have been awarded fellowships starting next academic year. Tia was awarded the four-year NDSEG (National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate) Fellowship and Jonathan was awarded the one-year Switzer Environmental Fellowship. These are great accomplishments. Congratulations Tia and Jonathan!

Read more about Congratulations to student fellowship winners

Congratulations 2017 Graduates!

May 26, 2017

Please join us in congratulating our graduating students this year.  We wish them every success in the years to come.  It has truly been an honor to have them as part of the EPS community!  And please remember, you always will have a home here in EPS!

Graduate Students: Anna Lea Albright (MS), Phoebe DeVries, Athena Eyster, Matt Hayek, Claire Healy-Leavitt, Hannah Horowitz, Chris Horvat, Sarah Hurley, Shannon Koplitz, Harriet Lau, Ding Ma, Andy Masterson, Chris Miller, Cristi Proistosescu, Adrienne Propp (MS), Jonathan Tucker, and Alex Turner.

Read more about Congratulations 2017 Graduates!

GSAS Merit Fellowship awarded to Sunny Park

April 27, 2017


EPS graduate student Sunny Park has been awarded the Graduate School’s Merit Fellowship for 2017-18 for her research proposal titled “The Earth Revealed by New Seismological Approaches - Insights into the Deep Processes from Top to Bottom”. Well done Sunny!


NSF Fellowship winners in EPS!

March 29, 2017


Congratulations to current EPS graduate student Judy Pu and incoming G1 Tina Liu who were both awarded 2017 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships!


Bok Center's Distinction in Teaching awards announced!

March 9, 2017


Please join us in congratulating several of our TFs and a TA from the Fall 2016 semester who were recently announced as recipients of the Harvard University Certificate of Distinction in Teaching from the Bok Center! This certificate is awarded to teaching fellows and teaching assistants who earn an overall score of 4.5 out of 5.0 or higher (with a minimum of five evaluations) on the Q evaluations completed by students in their courses. Recipients will be honored by the Bok Center at a reception in April. Thank you to all of our TFs and TAs who work hard to promote learning

Read more about Bok Center's Distinction in Teaching awards announced!

EPS Shaler Teaching Award Winners!

December 9, 2016


We are thrilled to announce the winners of the 2015-16 Shaler Teaching Award: Yanpeng Sun who was a TF for EPS 171 Structural Geology & Tectonics in Fall 2015 and Will Steinhardt who was a TF for ES 123 Intro to Fluid Mechanics Spring 2016.  The Shaler Teaching Award is given annually to teaching fellows who exhibit excellence in teaching. Each recipient of this award receives an "Outstanding EPS Teaching Fellow" certificate, an engraved Estwing rock hammer, and

Read more about EPS Shaler Teaching Award Winners!

Bok Center's Distinction in Teaching awards announced

September 21, 2016

We are pleased to share the winners of the Spring 2016 Harvard University Certificate of Distinction in Teaching! The Bok Center for Teaching and Learning reserves this award for outstanding teaching fellows and assistants (complete list here). All scored 4.5 or higher (out of a total of 5) on their teaching evaluations. The recipients will be invited to a reception on October 19 to receive their certificates.

  • EPS 261 Sea Level Change - Jacky Austermann
  • EPS/OEB 56
Read more about Bok Center's Distinction in Teaching awards announced
Congratulations EPS Graduates!

Congratulations EPS Graduates!

May 24, 2016

We would like to congratulate all of this year’s EPS degree recipients on reaching such an important milestone and on their remarkable achievements. EPS has been truly fortunate to have these students in our community.  We look forward to staying in touch and seeing them in the years to come. All the best to our graduates!

BA degree: Tyler Barringer, Taylor Benninger, Alyssa Chan, Patrick Dowling, James Duncan, Hanna Evensen, Carolyn Gigot, Sam Goldberg, Wilson Kuhnel, Joseph Lanzillo, Rodrigo Leal, Katja Lierhaus, Ellen Robo, Cecilia Sanders, Daniel Skarzynski, Hank Smith,

Read more about Congratulations EPS Graduates!

Fellowship winners in EPS!

April 20, 2016

Congratulations to several EPS graduate students: Evelyn Powell and incoming G1 Ana Gonzalez Valdes have been awarded 2016 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships.  In addition, Harriet Lau has been awarded the 2016 GSAS Merit Fellowship. Great work everyone!